EUSA_ID and EURICA Mobilities


EUSA_ID is a Development Studies focused mobility program offering study, training and research periods in Europe for South African Master and PhD candidates and staff and provides European PhD candidates the opportunity to spend a research period in South Africa. The program encompasses 84 mobilities (18 European, 66 South African) which cover Master students, PhD candidates and staff. 

The partnership is coordinated by Ruhr-University Bochum (Germany). The co-coordinator on the South African side is the University of Western Cape (UWC). Overall the consortium consists of six South African and seven European Higher Education Institutions and shares the expertise in complementary thematic fields related to Development Studies which has been chosen as common umbrella. For more information about Erasmus Mundus program follow this link.

Contact person: Martin Schlossarek

List of EUSA_ID universities

UniversityInstitute / Department
European universities
Ruhr University Bochum (Germany)Institute of Development Research and Development Policy
Erasmus University Rotterdam (Netherlands)International Institute of Social Studies (ISS) 
University Duisburg /  Essen (Germany)Institute of Political Science
Palacký University (Czech Republic)Department of Development Studies
University of Bordeaux 1 (France) 
University Paris 1 (France)Department of Economics 
University of Jyväskylä (Finland)Department for Social Sciences and Philosophy 
South African universities
University of the Western CapeSchool of Government/Instiute for Social Development
Nelson Mandela Metropolitan UniversityDepartment of Development Studies
University of Cape Town School of Economics
University of Fort HareDepartment of Development Studies
University of KwaZulu NatalSchool of Development Studies
University of LimpopoTurfloop Graduate School of Leadership



EURICA is an Erasmus Mundus Action 2 consortium consisting of 20 European and Latin American Higher Education Institutions. EURICA is coordinated by the University of Groningen, The Netherlands. The regional coordination is in the hands of the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Mexico.

Thirteen partners from eight different target countries in Latin America participate: Argentina, Chile, Colombia, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, and Nicaragua. Seven partners from seven different target countries in Europe participate: Czech Republic, Estonia, Italy, The Netherlands, Poland, Romania and Spain.

EURICA expects to award a total of 292 scholarships in the period 2014-2017 to Latin American and European nationals. Scholarships are awarded on all levels: undergraduate, master, doctoral, post-doctoral and staff. For more information about the program please follow the link.